Pin Up Perfection

One of my assignments for the Glam Academy was to set up my own trade for print Pin Up theme photo shoot. Meaning I had to cast anyone that I thought could help make the image the best it could be.   I wasted no time to start my search.
I reached out to a photographer that I worked with before, Ira Idelson, who was more then happy to help.  I explained to him the look I was going for and we chose a date & time together.  With that decided I was able to put out a casting call for a model.  I feel that anyone can wear pin up makeup but not everyone has that authentic vintage look to them.  After going through many responses and photos I came across Robyn Welsh’s, an old co worker and friend, modeling profile.   I knew she would be perfect.  It took some perseverance to get in touch with her, but when we did reconnect she was delighted to work with me on my project.
Talent coming together is a wonderful thing…my makeup & wardrobe styling, with a breathtaking model and an amazing photographer. I couldn’t be more pleased with the finished product!

20140224-122307.jpg

20140224-122321.jpg

For wardrobe I chose an emerald brocade 50s wiggle dress by 20th Century Foxy, black thigh highs, & black satin long gloves, pearl clip in earrings.  I brought props to enhance the image.  From a consignment shop, vintage green suitcase & cigarette holder.  In the top picture is my great grandmother’s antique hand mirror.

20140227-082333.jpg

Ira captured me touching up powder in between shoots & wardrobe change.  Robyn hair was inspired by a few images I had sent her, she was able to interpret them into this fab pin up do.

20140224-122331.jpg

This is my absolute favorite image, it captures everything I was looking to accomplish!  I’m very grateful to Robyn & Ira for seeing my vision and making it a reality with me.

For more photos from this shoot go to
Ira’s Facebook Page

Leave a comment